Introduction


We have just launched our Call Queuing functionality, which is a feature of our Luna Hosted PBX platform. The function is linked to the call group feature, allowing customers the way to easily add and remove extensions from the Queue, and also to easily enable and disable the function.


Setup Instructions


Setting up a Queue is exceedingly simple. You need to login to self-care as normal and access your Luna PBX instance. As the queue system utilises call groups, you will need to create one, if you have not already done so. To do this, just click on "Groups" and then click "New group".


Once created, browse to the bottom of the options and there will be an option "Queue calls into this group", as highlighted in the below picture...



To enable the Queuing function, change this option to "Yes" and click save at the bottom. This will now present you with further options linked to the Queue functionality, as shown below...



The options and their functions are listed below...


Queue Join Prompt  - This prompt is played to all callers before they join the call. It is optional.


Queue Holding Prompt - This prompt sets what is played to callers while they are waiting in the queue. By default, the system will use the specified hold music configured on your PBX. If you want to use alternative music, then please select one from the available list on the portal.


Prioritise Callers - This function allows you to allocate priorities to callers in the Q. The application and adjustment of priority, at this time, can only be changed via the Webhook/Integration system, via the `queuePriority` variable. This function is disabled by default.


Periodic Announcements - This allows you to play up to 3 different pre-selected prompts, at fixed intervals, to callers waiting in the queue. You can specify the frequency of the announcements via the left-hand drop down box and the right-hand box controls when the system timer starts. Please note, if you wish to utilise Position announcements (see below), then you must have the periodic announcements enabled, and at least 1 periodic prompt selected. The feature is optional and can be disabled if you rather.


Periodic Prompt - This is where you select your periodic prompts. As mentioned above, you can specify up to 3 prompts, one in each box.


Announce Position - This function allows you to inform callers what position in the queue they are. It is played in line with the periodic announcement timings. It is only played if there is more than 1 person waiting in the queue. This feature is optional and can be disabled if you rather.


Allow Queue Mute Option - When enabled, this gives callers waiting in the Queue the option to mute the hold music, by pressing the star (*) key on their keypad. If they want to re-enable the music, they do so by pressing the star (*) key twice. While the caller is muted, they can press the * key again, to hear a periodic announcement (if enabled) that allows them to ascertain that they are still in the queue.


Queue Mute Option Prompt - This is played after the initial Queue Join Prompt if selected. It is designed to provide instructions on how to mute the music. You can specify your own, or if left blank, the generic prompt will be played.


Queue Mute Confirmation Prompt - This prompt is played to callers when they successfully mute the call. If left blank, the generic prompt is played.


Max Queue Size - This allows you to specify the maximum number of callers that will be queued by the system.


Max Queue Size Exceeded Prompt - This prompt is played to people who attempt to join a Queue that is full. If none is supplied, the system will use the generic prompt.


Max Queue Waiting Time - Specifies the maximum amount of time a caller can be kept in the Queue.


Max Queue Time Exceeded Prompt - The prompt that is played to callers who have been waiting longer than the Max Queue waiting time. If none is selected, the system will use the generic prompt.


If either the Queue Size or the maximum wait time is exceeded, then the system will route the call according to the termination settings on the DDI that directed the call to the PBX.


Other Notes


Unlike other phone systems, you do not need to "log in" to the Queue system. The extensions listed in the Queue group are permanently in the queue. If you want to remove an extension from the Queue, you will need to remove it from the list of extensions on the group in question.


As a result of the above, callers can always join the Queue, if their call is routed to it. As such, it would be advisable to implement our Time of Day routing options, to prevent callers accidentally joining your Queue when there is no one present to answer their call, such as when your business is closed.